Review: Vault Health COVID-19 Test

Review: Vault Health COVID-19 Test

.

12/16/20 Update: A number of recent commenters in early December have had more positive experiences with Vault Health; their timing as likely helped, as the early December period is usually a lull for travel, between busy Thanksgiving and Christmas/New Year's travel.

11/20/20 Update: Currently we can't recommend Vault Health, at least during peak holiday periods, as it appears to be overwhelmed by demand and unable to provide responsive service to clients, especially given the fast turnaround required for Hawaii. Please scroll down to read the most recent commenters' experiences. Also note that as of 11/24/20, Hawaii-bound travelers will need a negative COVID-19 test result *before* boarding their departing flight in order to avoid quarantine.

This is our Vault Health COVID-19 Test Review based on our October 2020 coronavirus PCR testing experience. Vault Health has partnered with JetBlue, Hawaiian Airlines, the state of Hawaii and other organizations to provide the requisite COVID-19 PCR testing prior to travel to certain destinations.

.

Ordering the Vault Health COVID-19 Test

Ordering our test was straightforward. Since we would be flying with JetBlue, we went to the vaulthealth.com/jetblue site and created an account for each of us. This was the only part I was a bit frustrated with: I needed to create three separate accounts, each with its own unique email and login, which is somewhat cumbersome for a family. Many destinations do require children to also take a COVID-19 PCR test, so your child will need his/her own account. Always double check the COVID-19 testing requirements of your destination, especially as these can change.

Since I placed the order earlier in the week, on a Tuesday, the test kits arrived the very next day, Wednesday. Note if you're trying to get your kit the very next day, avoid ordering on a Friday, since it won't arrive until the following Monday at the earliest. Thursday orders may also not arrive until Monday, so place your order Monday-Wednesday if at all possible.

.

Taking the Vault Health COVID-19 Test

We took the Vault Health COVID-19 test on a Monday, hoping to receive our test results on Wednesday. Be sure to not eat, drink, smoke or chew gum in the 30 minutes before you provide your saliva sample.

After logging in, we requested an appointment with a remote supervisor. Before we were placed into a remote “waiting room” we had to confirm that we hadn't eaten/drunk anything within the last 30 minutes, that we had our entire test kit, and that we had the Zoom app with camera and audio enabled on our device.

Review: Vault Health COVID-19 Test

.

Our waiting times ranged from 7-20 minutes, even though the estimated waiting time for all of them was 10 minutes. Once the test supervisor appeared, I had to confirm my name, date of birth, and show my driver's license. For those testing their family, it's possible to have everyone conduct their supervised sample in one Zoom call.

After that it was time to provide the saliva sample, by spitting into the tube (which helpfully has a funnel attached to it, to make it easier). The sample amount has to be at or above the black line, so be sure to drink an ample amount of water *before* the 30 minute cut-off time prior to the sample, to make it easier to provide enough saliva.

Once that was done, I removed the funnel part and screwed on the cap, which has a blue liquid to preserve the sample. You're instructed to shake the vial for 5 seconds to mix everything together. After that, it's time to place it inside the cardboard box, and then into the postage paid UPS envelope. The antiseptic wipe is to wipe down the envelope immediately prior to handing it to your nearest UPS facility.

Vault Health COVID-19 Test Review

.

Getting the Test Confirmation

Just as we'd hoped, the following day we received confirmation that our samples were received by the lab (roughly 28 hours after mailing it).

And the very next morning, so within about 18 hours after the lab receipt confirmation, we received our test results; fortunately, negative. Vault Health does warn you that in addition to “positive” or “negative,” a small percentage of samples, roughly 2%, are deemed “inconclusive” where the test is not able to definitively determine status.

If needing to upload a one page pdf, this will be in your Vault Health account. Note that Vault Health does NOT provide a time stamp for the time the test was taken, monitored over Zoom, only the date. This is fine for the State of Hawaii, which is aware of this issue and still partners with Vault. If, however, you take a different COVID-19 test (not with Vault Health) that is time stamped, it's critical that it be taken no earlier than 72 hours prior to the departure of your flight to Hawaii. In the case of connecting flights, for example DEN-LAX-OGG, you would need to take the test in the 72 hours before your departure time from Los Angeles LAX (*not* 72 hours prior to your departure from Denver DEN, as that would be too early).

You'll also want to print out your negative test documentation; at least one commenter has noted that the line in Hawaii for those with printed documentation was much shorter than for those who only had it on their mobile device.

Vault Health COVID-19 Test Result

.

The Verdict

We were pleasantly surprised at how efficient and easy everything was with ourVault Health COVID-19 tests. We received the tests the day after we ordered them, we were notified the lab had received our samples the day after we mailed them, and less than 24 hours afterwards we had our negative test result.

If you've used a Vault Health COVID-19 test recently, what was your experience?

Recommended Posts

Hawaii: COVID-19 Test to Skip Maui and Kauai Interisland Quarantine

Hawaiian Airlines COVID-19 Testing via Vault Health

JetBlue COVID-19 PCR Test: How It Works

If you enjoyed this, join 200,000+ readers: follow TravelSort on Twitter or like us on Facebook to be alerted to new posts.

Subscribe to TravelSort on YouTube and TravelSort on Instagram for travel inspiration.

Become a TravelSort Client and Book 5-Star Hotels with Virtuoso or Four Seasons Preferred Partner Benefits

Share This:

Leave a Reply

225 Comments on "Review: Vault Health COVID-19 Test"

avatar
newest oldest most voted
Kanika
Guest

I’m so nervous! I had already purchased Vault test kit before they changed the information on Tuesday & Wednesday flights. My flight leaves 12/9. I tested Monday 12/7/20. Lab received test at via email @2:20p 12/08. It is 6pm 12/8 and have no received anything my fingers are crossed that everything works out. This would be my second time canceling my Hawaii trip this year.

Amanda Holt
Guest

Having a hard time getting a answer from the Vault been asking for a few days where my tests are. Ups said they are waiting for them to send it and a label has been made. It’s been 6 days now. Thank God I ordered my test way in advance. But feeling hopeless in getting a answer back. I’ve called numerous times and emailed. Can someone help

SAHITHI
Guest

Can any one help here.

My flight to Hawaii is 12/10 07:45 AM PST.

Me and my spouse sent the test kit sample at the same time and delivered to lab at the same time(Delivered 12/8 10:00 AM EST). my spouse received an email with subject “The lab has received your sample”, But I didn’t received any email to me.

Now I am worried that will I get the test results before the departure of my flight.?

I tried to call vault health and always going to voicemail.

Jay
Guest

SAHITI: I am in the exact same situation. Did you finally get the confirmation? Were you and your spouse’s test results on time? How long did the whole thing take for you?

Jay
Guest

UPDATE: I got the confirmation at 12:30pm PST and the test results (NEGATIVE) at 5:30pm PST. Vault has worked our well for us.

Kyle
Guest

Took 3 vault tests today for our Saturday departure. The nurse told us we can put all 3 tests back in the same white box. On the box I wrote stat Hawaii also she told me to write test x 3 on the box too. On the mailing envelope I also put stat Hawaii. Make sure you also have the return envelope that has a neon sticker on it. Supposed to be the ones for expedited Hawaii. I will check back when I hear that they received it. Hopefully everything will go smoothly

Ivelina Nikolova
Guest

Hey guys, so I ordered the vault covid test because it was saying it’s an overnight test. I ordered it SUNDAY! I got it laaate late (4pm) Tuesday! I sent it back obviously Wednesday, today is Thursday and it is bot out for shipping yet!!! Who knows how long it would take to get the actual results! And on top of everything I payed 119 dollars? FOR WHAT? I needed those results by the end of the week!!

Mark McDade
Guest

WHAT A NIGHTMARE DON’T USE THIS SERVICE I ORDERED 4 TEST DID NOT RECEIVE ONE THE OTHER 2 WERE NOT DONE QUICK ENOUGH TO TRAVEL, HAY THEY DID GET ONE RIGHT. NO CUSTOMER SERVICE PERIOD. I AM GOING TO HAVE TO CHALLENGE THE CREDIT CARD IF I AM EVER GOING TO GET MY MONEY BACK

Mark McDade
Guest

AFTER Several hours on hold I was finally able to reach them and they refunded mine and got the other 2 processed in the nick of time pretty stressful

Martin
Guest
This thread of comments and the article have been a huge help and I wanted to share my experience. My flight leaves tomorrow 12/11 and I order my tests last week and it arrived last Thursday next day. We took four (4) tests Tuesday morning. Our UPS shipping bags had a large pink sticker that signify that we are flying from Hawaiian Airlines and that we ordered using that link. We were instructed to write “Stat Hawaii” on both sides of the box and UPS bag. I dropped off the four samples an hour later at around 11am Tuesday and… Read more »
Kyle
Guest

Yesterday took 3 tests. Dropped them off at UPS. Today Wednesday got an email around 12:30 that the lab received them. Mailed all 3 in same bag. Tonight. Same night Wednesday we received results. All 3 negative. So a little aver 24 hours. We live in California so they went overnight. Sorry it hadn’t work out for some people. We were happy with turn around time

Dee Baum
Guest

Don’t use Vault Health, it’s a SCAM! They never gave Covid test results as paid for. I’ve sent several emails and made numerous calls and not one reply. Don’t waste your money! And shame on JetBlue partnering with them. They can’t produce what’s promised.

Jay
Guest

My wife and I took the test at 10:00am on 12/10 for a flight time of 9:30am from OAK-HNL on 12/13.
Separate Zoom sessions, wrote STAT HAWAII on the box and the UPS envelope, which already had a pink neon sticker on it.
Dropped off the samples to the UPS store at 11:00am.
Tracked UPS – package was delivered at 10:00am EST.My wife got a confirmation of receiving the sample at 8:15am PST, I got mine at 12:30pm PST on 12/11. We both got our test results at 5:30PM the same day. Worked our beautifully for us.

Sherilyn G Harrell
Guest

How is the zoom call date and time selected? I did not see available dates and times when ordering the test and i am concerned that i will receive the test with no availavility to perform the supervised test. We are trying to visit our son for Christmas. He is in the military stationed in Hawaii and this is proving almost impossible.
Sherilyn

Buzz
Guest
Just wanted to add another reference point for anyone who might be panicking about using Vault, as I was after reading some of the experiences here. I live in New Jersey and took a Vault test through one of the public health testing sites yesterday afternoon, a Saturday, 12/12/20. By 7:18 pm the same night I received confirmation of the lab’s sample receipt, and the emailed results arrived at 9:56 am the very next morning, a Sunday. For some people the test timing works out great, for others, not so well. Some of that might be due to their shipping… Read more »
Kimmie D
Guest
I was in a full blown panic after reading some of these comments so I felt I should share our experience. We pre- ordered our tests (10 days ahead of time) we had them the next day (we live in Salt Lake City Utah). However, UPS lost one of our tests, but I still had time to order another one. We logged onto the website Friday at 8am (easiest via email they sent) for the Zoom & the wait was only about 10 minutes. The customer service agent was able to supervise all our our tests and all 3 of… Read more »
Donna Senese
Guest

Vault was great !! Ordered test on Friday – received on Saturday. Tested in Monday and shipped that afternoon. Lab received on Tuesday a d we got Reilly’s Tuesday night. Flight is Thursday !! It worked for us and in Indiana the options for Hawaii travel are extremely limited!!

Samantha De Dios
Guest

My UPS tracker says my son’s test was delivered but he never got a confirmation email while the rest of us did. He didn’t get his results and we all did. I’ve been calling the number they provided with no results. Help?

Simon
Guest

We are in the exact same boat. 3/4 and now less than 15 hours before departure. No response on email, twitter or voicemail. Did you end up getting yours?

John
Guest
Here’s my feedback on our family’s experience with the Vault Health COVID test. I ordered the test for the 3 of us about 3 weeks in advance — they have a shelf life of 2 years so no problem there. They arrived 2-3 days from NJ after I ordered them–we live in San Francisco, CA. Each person (including children) need their own account. We chose them because of their rapid turnaround time and the convenience of taking the test at home and they are approved by the State of Hawaii and for children. Click on the box that says you… Read more »
Cole T Johnson
Guest
I just wanted to leave a data point here and say that Vault really came through for me here for my trip to Hawaii today (Saturday). I ordered the test a week before and it came promptly. Hopped in a Zoom room Wednesday with a supervisor and wrote “STAT Hawaii” on both the box the sample was in and on the back of the shipping envelope. Handed it off to UPS 20 minutes later. Then a massive snowstorm hit the east coast and forced a lot of postal services to pause operations. This is about when I started sweating it.… Read more »
TIMOTHY G TIETJEN
Guest

Vault is UNRELIABLE! Missed my Hawaii flight due to getting results late. Proceed at your own risk!

Terri h
Guest

Ordered test on 12/16. Still have not received it. Impossible to get an answer for
Vault thru email or phone. Left email 3 days ago no response. I was ona call for 40 minutes when they directed me to voicemail. Clearly they are iverwbelmed and can’t be counted on. Do not use

Carlyle
Guest

The fact that they close at 8PM ET on Fridays saturdays and sundays really screws people over on the west coast. My flight was on Monday at 5PST which means I had to wait until Saturday morning to take my test, when I should have taken it on Friday evening. My test got to the lab on Monday afternoon, and I received my test results quickly after that (early Tuesday morning). However, that was too late for Hawaii. Basically you can only trust this place for the 72 hour period if your flight is on Thursday-Saturday. So ridiculous!!!

Leslie
Guest

Can you tell me what time Tuesday did you get your results. My flight is at 10 am est to Hawaii. They received my test today Wed at 3p.m. even though UPS said they delivered at 10 am.

Florina Buga
Guest

Very disappointing, frustrating, and expensive experience.
My daughter and I took the test in the same Zoom meeting, per the Vault Zoom instructor recommendations…. while I received the test results fast, my daughter’s test, although has been delivered as per UPS tracking confirmation, is not in the system, didn’t receive the test results.
I’ve been on the phone for HOURS trying to get a hold of a Vault live agent, no such luck, left 3 voice mails, sent emails…. looks like my next call is to the airline to cancel my Hawaii vacation.

Guest
Guest

Just for those traveling soon ordered vault for Hawaii trip on departing 12/25 Friday from CA. Took the test Tuesday early evening, dropped off at ups before 6p pick up. Lab received email from vault at 9am next day weds and results returned 10 hours later. All in all, results back within 24hours including shipping for us.

R Webb
Guest
To add another data point, my wife and I had the same experience as the above post. Set to leave CA on Friday 12/25, vault test taken at 10:30am Tuesday. Dropped off at UPS at noon with an air pickup cutoff of 4:30pm. UPS Delivery confirmation on Wednesday at 10am EST. Vault labs email stating both of our tests had been received at 12:20 PST. My wife’s results came Wednesday just before 7pm PST. My results came at 1:30am PST Thursday. Both tests sent in at the same time, but separate UPS envelopes since that’s what the zoom meeting person… Read more »
R Webb
Guest

To update my previous post about Walgreens. Tonight while at a 6:30 dinner in Maui my results from Walgreens were emailed to me. So my results took 80 hours from the time I took the test to receive. My wife’s results have yet to come as 5am HST. Good thing we didn’t need them as a fall back test.

Mark
Guest
Vault covid test results came in time for Hawaii travel I just wanted to relay a positive experience with getting the test results — we got them one day after taking the test — but also a warning to order the test early, I recommend two weeks before you need to take the test. My wife and I ordered our tests on Dec 17 since we needed to take the tests on the 23rd for travel to Hawaii on the 26th. The test kits are over-nighted on UPS, but apparently they weren’t in stock because I didn’t get mine until… Read more »
Guest
Guest

They screwed me. Did not get results in time. Do not waste money buying from them.

Bev Law
Guest
Vault Health is a total scam. I wish we had researched them prior to ordering, AND PAYING IN FULL UP FRONT BASED UPON A HEADLINE ON THEIR WEBSITE THAT READ “ORDER NOW AND GET YOUR TESTS DELIVEREED BY DECEMBER 24.” DON’T FALL FOR THEIR BS. AND IF YOU DO, PAY WITH YOUR AMEX CARD SO YOU CAN BE GUARANTEED A FULL REFUND WHEN THE TESTS DON’T ARRIVE. There’s no customer service number to contact someone directly and they’ve yet to reply to us over 72 hours after paying for multiple test kits in advance that have yet to even be… Read more »
Allison
Guest

Hi Hilary,

Thank you for all your help. I saw in a comment posted 1 month ago that you do not recommend Vault anymore. We just booked a return trip and a Vault test for travel on 1/2/21 to a state requiring 72 hour testing prior to arrival. Has the demand slowed down? We were slightly concerned with New Years, do you think they will be backed up again? Thanks!

Andre
Guest

Just wondering if anything had changed regarding the time stamp….is it still the day (not specific time) the zoom call was made / sample taken?

Any updates would be greatly appreciated.

Mel
Guest

I used the Vault Health test to travel to Hawaii on December 5th, 2020. The experience was great. I received my test results within 24 hours. I would recommend using Vault Health.

Noelle
Guest
Our flight is tomorrow at 8AM from San Diego. We took the test Monday at 8AM and sent via UPS overnight. We just received confirmation from UPS that it was delivered to VAULT at 7:58AM. So here we are wondering if results will be posted today to upload to site etc. There are three of us and we all did the test with one agent and put all 3 tests in one white box. The UPS envelope had the pink sticker on it. The agent never advised us to write anything. We are a bit nervous because there is no… Read more »
Mitch
Guest
UPS pickup at 7 pm 1/4/21 for my wife and I. She got the “we received you sample at 10 am on 1/5. I got the “we received your sample” at 2:13 pm on 1/5. Wife got results at 8:33 pm on 1/5 (less then 24 hours from giving to UPS) and I got my results at 1:53 am on 1/6. Over all a very easy process. We did not put the “STST Hawaii” on our packages because the person who monitored the test told us not needed if you have Pink sticker which we did. Some notes. When we… Read more »
Debbie
Guest

Is the zoom call available 24/7 or specific hours? We need our test done on a Sunday by 11:20 am – is that an option?

Lisa s MacLeod
Guest

Leaving for hawaii feb 5th friday already purchased my vault test..I read great reviews on vault now I see they are over whelmed was this just during the holidays?? are they back to running normal no? I live 4 hours away to a rapid testing so i do not know what to do so risky and alot of planning and money on the line

Jen
Guest

Vault had possession of my sample on Wednesday afternoon at which time they said result was inconclusive. Email stated not to worry and we would have result in a few hours. It took them until Thursday after 11am to get a negative result—-way beyond the promised few hours! We missed out on trip to Turks abs Caicos and lost lots of money. Vault health is an unreliable company and offered no compensation!

Jim
Guest

Will Delta airlines accept the vault test for a Jamaican flight?

Dev
Guest

Hi, this thread has been really helpful. A quick question I have is: do you have to be flying a Hawaiian airlines flight to buy through their link? It seems like vault is prioritizing their tests over just the normal tests.

Mike Erstad
Guest

Vault health is a terrible option. They have lost 4 of my tests sent to them. There is no number you can call and they respond occasionally to questions with no real help answers through their email. Its been over 1 month and still have no got results, a call or any answers. This is unacceptable.

Stephanie Murphy
Guest
I would NOT RECOMMEND VAULT. We just came back from Aruba. We opted for VAULT as it was listed in their website. My husband and I followed to the T the directions. We flew out on Wed, so we had to test on Monday since UPS doesn’t carry on Sunday. The multiple email exchange I was told to put “STAT ARUBA” on both tests. I received confirmation tues at 11am my test was in the lab, results at 10:30 pm that night, which was appropriate and expected. However my husbands!!! He emailed them 5pm tues night after no arrival email,… Read more »
Alia
Guest

PSA: Vault labs has the WORST customer service! In my experience it was the most outrageous service I have ever received. My test results were not returned within the 72 hour time frame and when I complained to the agent, they handled the situation extremely unprofessionally. Most airports have rapid testing that is the same price as Vault. Go with one of those and you are sure to have a better experience!

richard gilleland
Guest

We have a trip to Honolulu on a Monday and leaves Albuquerque at 12:32 PM, connecting in Phoenix with a departure of 2:25 PM for Honolulu. I’m guessing that we need to take the test on the previous Friday but I’m not sure what time we can take the Zoom call. Also, will be get the results back before our 12:32 Departure time from Albuquerque? Thanks

Drew Colton
Guest

This company is a scam. They didn’t have my travel pcr test done in 72 hrs… and 2 out of 3 of my colleagues were also left stranded in the airport. Do not use if you want reliable service. They just blame UPS and take your money

Kristen
Guest

Hello! My husband and I are flying to Maui in March (Saturday flight) and I am trying to figure out which testing option is most reliable. This is stressful! Have the recent reviews of Vault been positive? I’m having trouble finding much feedback about people’s experiences elsewhere. Also considering the Costco version but the reviews are very mixed. Any input anyone has would be appreciated! Haven’t booked airline tickets yet but most likely dying AA.

Marni
Guest

Hi Kristen – we are going to Maui in March also and after reading the reviews here and from the Costco one, decided to also test through Walgreens as a backup. There’s just too many variables so we felt it was worth it for a little more piece of mind. Best of luck!

Melissa B.
Guest
Im sitting here anxious, was supposed to board plane for honeymoon to Hawaii tomorrow at noon. I did exactly what Vault said, after taking test on zoom, I went to UPS on Thursday at 11:30am and dropped our packages for overnight shipping. My flight is tomorrow (Sunday), and guess what – the test is STILL NOT DELIVERED to Vault lab – UPS says it should have been there an hour ago TODAY and its not delivered. I had paid for expedited overnight shipping and it should have been their Friday. I live in Colorado. Vault has NO customer service number… Read more »
Wendy Sparks
Guest

Best experience ever. Due to bad weather UPS delivered our Covid tests late but Vault Health got us our results before our flight. So impressed and pleased it’s their service!!

Stacey Mortensen
Guest
We did not have a positive experience with using Vault. It was more than likely the fault of UPS, however, either way… we did not get our results in time and had to cancel our trip to Hawaii last minute. We dutifully sent in our tests on Wednesday to get our results by Friday. My husband received his Saturday morning, two of my daughters and I received our results Saturday evening and my third daughter received hers Sunday morning. We were supposed to fly out our last leg to Hawaii on Saturday morning. Of course we all received negative results… Read more »
Vikki
Guest

Using vault awaiting result
The weak link in the chain is ups
It took 5 days to receive the test and it is now 48 hours since drop off to send back and vault has still not received the test

April
Guest

I have a Vault test that wasn’t flagged as a travel test. I requested one when my daughter was potentially exposed at school (the child ended up being negative). Can I use this test for my travels to Hawaii or should I order a 2nd one and answer “yes” to the “is this for travel” question. Is the only difference a travel sticker or do the result layout vary as well? Thanks!

David
Guest
You are lucky. My wife and I were not. We followed the directions on their website to a T, for a Wednesday morning flight on JetBlue. According to their instructions- which have since been modified, we were to ship the test kits back to them Monday for them to receive the kits and process the tests on Tuesday, so we could travel Wednesday. We brought the kits to a major UPS shipping hub at 8:30am Monday, when it opened. The Vault lab is less than a 90 minute drive from the UPS hub. Vault wanted the kits to ship via… Read more »